Before and After: Brazilian Blowout at Choppers Hair Salon

Hello Kara,

This post is way overdue. My BRAZILIAN BLOWOUT EXPERIENCE.

First, let’s talk about my hair. My natural hair is unruly. It’s frizzy, there are like 19 different textures, and, as you can see in the first picture, cannot be contained within a single selfie. I color it and the only heat styling I do is straightening/curling. I rarely wash my hair (twice a week is a norm) and it’s still pretty damaged from when I went pink. I use more deep conditioning treatments (leave in conditioners, masks, oils) in a month than you will use in a lifetime, Kara. To minimize damage, I like to sleep with my hair wet so that it’s dry in the morning (because my hair takes ALL DAY to dry otherwise, I’m not exaggerating) so my hair would be in a horrible state when I’d wake up. So after a lot of debating, I decided to finally get a Brazilian blowout done on my hair!

I went to Choppers Salon in Scottsdale. I had a mixed experience. I really think the stylist did an amazing job, but the experience in the salon wasn’t the best. Let me explain.

When I made my appointment I asked for a root touch up and a Brazilian blowout. What’s cool about the salon is that the Brazilian comes with a hair cut. They said they could only fit me in for a Brazilian at the time – no color, but when I got to the salon – they said they could do color as well. So – I had the stylist do my roots an in-between color from my dyed hair to my natural hair color. The stylist, who happens to be the salon owner, was very chatty. And he wasn’t talking WITH me, he was talking AT me. And that was… well – I don’t know if he has a hearing problem or what but it was just a very odd and uncomfortable experience. I’m one of those people that just wants to sit and not talk and watch what the stylist does – because I missed my calling as a hair stylist – and he was clearly not picking up on my cues. Towards the end of the appointment, after I had told him that I wanted a cut, he realized that people were waiting for their appointment with him and he didn’t cut my hair – made some excuses as to “oh I thought it looked fine” and what not to get me out of the chair. I called the salon back a couple days later and expressed that I wanted a cut and they gave it to me for free – so I’m fine with that. Also, I had the best scalp massage I’ve ever gotten and they gave me full size bottles of the Brazilian Blowout shampoo and conditioner which helps extend the life of the blowout. So, I’m going to go back – but I don’t know if I’m gonna be happy about it.

As for the Brazilian Blowout – I will never NOT do it. The first day is pretty miserable – my hair is stick straight and I don’t think that look is cute – but after the initial day, it’s incredible. It’s completely changed my hair. In the second picture (taken 2 weeks after getting the blowout) you can see how manageable it is! And that’s just air dried! I am so in love and I’m already planning to go back to the salon and get another the first weekend of October. At this point, about two months after getting it done, my hair is still pretty manageable and it has a lovely little wave to it. I prefer it now vs. the first couple weeks after having it done.

Whether or not I go back to the same guy – I can’t live without this treatment. It has done wonders for my hair and for my time getting ready in the morning. My hair feels healthier and I think it’s worth every penny.

Of course, you don’t need this treatment – because your hair is already straight and perfect. =P

To the furthest star and back,

Leave a Reply

