5/10/15 and Silver Linings

Hi Kara,

I don’t know how to start this post.

Last Friday, Andrew and I woke up to panicked call from Andrew’s sister, Robin, with the news that Andrew’s mom had fallen down a flight of stairs into a chest of drawers. This lead to more than seven broken ribs, an emergency flight to Phoenix to remove her ruptured spleen, a collapsed lung, pneumonia, bacterial infections, and more. It has been eight days since her fall and she’s finally out of the ICU.

Kara, you know how hard it is for me to digest how I’m feeling – and to be honest – I have very few words that can accurately describe how horrible, terrifying, and emotionally taxing this week has been. (Maryann is going to call me “such an Aquarius” and comment on my weak ankles after reading this.)

So instead of talking about the negative side of this experience, I’m going to talk about silver linings.

1) It could have been so much worse. She, miraculously, didn’t hit her head. She didn’t break her neck or spine or skull. She survived the plane ride to Phoenix with a spleen that had been ruptured for 8 hours. She made it through two massive surgeries. She’s on the mend.

2) Family. We got to see Andrew’s aunt, cousin, grandma and grandpa who drove from California to be with her, and I’ve seen two of his four sisters almost every day (the other two are across the country, but were there in spirit). I cannot express how grateful I am to be a part of their family.

3) She’s going to quit smoking!

4) I got to put another pin in the pincushion that is my continually growing love for Andrew. This has been even harder on him, and I’ve never seen him so worried, heart-broken, or scared. But throughout this experience, he’s thanked me endlessly for being there for him, his(our) mom and his(our) family. If anyone were to ask me the qualities of a “real man,” I would point them Andrew’s way. He is the epitome of a gentlemen, and I am the luckiest.

5) I learned two new things: One, hospital food is cheap and delicious. I will almost be sad to leave my morning yogurt bowl. Two, I am capable of fainting when my loved ones show me large scars or when I see a bent IV tube come out of someones arm *EHHEM* but I am less likely to faint than I thought I was from blood. You only learn these things from experience, so there’s that.

And those are my silver linings!

As you can imagine, the cost of this whole ordeal is going to be immense. Nikki, Andrew’s sister, set up a page on YouCaring.com to try to help cover her increasing expenses. Of course, there is no obligation for anyone to donate, but I can say from the bottom of my heart that every donation and share is filling my heart with so much of something really nice and fluffy (again, she’s going to make fun of me for being an Aquarius) that I feel like it’s going to burst.

If you’d like to donate or share her YouCaring.com fundraiser, you can click the link here or copy and paste the link below into your browser.

http://www.youcaring.com/medical-fundraiser/help-maryann-spear-on-her-road-to-recovery-/339422#.VTFkAZvT-x8.facebook

Thank you to everyone for your love and support,

4 thoughts on “5/10/15 and Silver Linings

Leave a Reply

