Sephora Haul

Hello Keddahbean,

I wanted to show you what I got with my VIP Rouge 15% off coupon!

First, last year was 20% and not giving us 20% this year is a bunch of horse hockey (this phrase is now added to my vernacular thanks to Northernlion. Andrew and I watch his videos more than I’m comfortable admitting to you, Kara.) Second, when Maryann had her fall, Andrew and I packed up about a days worth of clothes and toiletries, because we didn’t know where she was going to end up. When she was transferred down to Phoenix, I left my skin care in the car – and since skin care needs to remain at a certain temperature, otherwise it’s no good, I had to buy all new stuff (which I was eager to do – I didn’t care for my old stuff anyways). Third, all products purchased DO NOT test on animals. Working with Alison has reminded me that fighting against animal cruelty with my dollars spent is not an uphill battle. I want to get back to having a cruelty free beauty regime! 

Edit: I wrote this blog post before I found out that Tarte was bought last year by a company in Japan that tests on animals. I may or may not be returning my Tarte product, but all of my opinions on the product are still true haha.

Edit (again): sorry for the lack of pictures! It’s moving day!

Let’s start with skin care.

First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Pure Mineral Sunscreen Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 40: This is a wonderful moisturizer. It has a really odd/lovely mouse like texture, it doesn’t break me out, it’s light and sinks into the skin right away, and the best part is, it has more natural ingredients for sun protection, like zinc oxide! For those who are natural sun-care savvy, this sunscreen/moisturizer does not leave a white cast on my skin, but I’m not a hundred percent sure if anything could make me more white.

First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Hydra-Firm Sleeping Cream: Again, this is a wonderful product. A unique texture, again, but it’s so soft and it melts into the skin. I’m experiencing no irritation using this product and I’ve noticed that my skin is really looking lovely even though I’ve had a hard couple of weeks with little sleep.

First Aid Beauty Eye Duty Triple Remedy Overnight Balm: I currently use FAB’s Eye Duty Triple Remedy: Brighten, Depuff and Smooth in the morning and I’ve used their 5 in 1 Eye Cream, so I was eager to try their overnight balm, which is a recent release. This product is creamy, balmy, and is doing wonders for my eyes. This is the first overnight eye product I’ve used that hasn’t caused irritation. My eyes aren’t puffy when I wake up and they seem much more hydrated. It is not helping with any fine lines, but I know I’m going to have to spend more than $38 for help in that area.

Also, this product is a balm so I massage it into my eye area. There’s no tugging or pulling involved so it’s safe to do, but I feel that massaging it into the skin leads to the best results.

Tarte BB Tinted Treatment 12-Hour Primer Broad Spectrum SPF 30 Sunscreen: I’ve used this product before and I love it so. It’s such a nice, velvety, simple, sheer foundation. This is my third or fourth bottle and it will continue to be a staple in my beauty regime for a long time to come. Best of all, it’s pale enough! Almost too pale! Woohoo!

Extra Goodies: I spent a few of my beauty points and got a few naughty extras. A sample of Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara (which is arguably NOT better than sex. This mascara was halfway down my face by the end of the day [there’s a dirty joke here but I’m too lazy to find it]), and a Beauty Insider 500 Point perk which included a cute little makeup bag (which is actually wonderful quality), a sample size of Tarte’s LipSurgence Skintuitive Lip Tint in Energy (which I haven’t tried yet), a sample size of Make Up For Ever Rouge Artist Natural in Copper Pink (haven’t tried and I don’t know if this is a cruelty free brand), a sample size of  Marc Jacobs Le Marc Lip Crème in Kiss Kiss Bang Bang (again, haven’t tried and I don’t know if this is a cruelty free brand), and a sample size of First Aid Beauty Face Cleanser (which is lovely and I will be keeping for travel!).

That’s it for my naughty purchases! Hope you enjoyed =D

To the furthest star and back,

One thought on “Sephora Haul

Leave a Reply

