Book Reviews and Punishments!

Hello Keddah,

I’ve finally left my Patrick Rothfuss book slump and I’ve started reading again! I think summer makes me read.

 

Alison has Mamrie’s book

 
These are the books I’ve read so far!

Memoirs of Lady Trent (series)//A Natural History of Dragons and The Tropic of Serpents

These books are WONDERFUL. They’re fantasy books but their written as a memoir and I think that’s so unique. Lady Trent is easily becoming one of my favorite female protagonists in literature. They’re very enticing reads and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend these to anyone. Andrew’s reading them now. The third book is out, but only in hardback, so I’m waiting till the paperback comes out. (PS I have no idea how many books will be in this series so if you ain’t down to wait, hesitate.)

I give them five out of five ducks.

Museum of Extraordinary Things 

This book was recommended to me by one of the lovely ladies at Changing Hands and I’m very glad she did! I love reading about “oddities” and this book is full of them. And I’ve noticed that I have a thing for circuses.. Anyways, it was a creepy, eerie, social justice-y, happy ending book and I loved it. If you liked the Miss Peregrine’s series, I would suggest you give this a read.

Five out of five ducks

You Deserve a Drink: Boozy Misadventures and Tales of Debauchery

Mamrie. Stop it, you beautiful beast. I LOVED this book. I’ve said it before, it’s no Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, but it’s still a freaking fantastic book. It has code words, each chapter starts with a recipe for an alcoholic beverage, and there’s Topless Tuesday! Note: While reading this book, Kara and I discussed the fact that if we were in college as we are now, I would never wear pants and Kara just wouldn’t wear clothes period. We also decided, because of this book, that we are each others Heterosexual Life Partners. This book deserves to be read by all.

Six out of five ducks.

The Paper Magician

This book was weird. It was very captivating, but I know that it’s not a well put together book. I’m going to read the second and third in the series, but this is one of those books that you’re embarrassed to like. The concept is so cool, but the story line is really lame. There was just so much more that could have been done with this series.

Four out of five ducks for keeping me reading

Advent

No. I hated reading this book. The author is so fucking good at describing the feeling of being watched. For about 2/3 of the book, I was petrified. NOTHING scares me more than the feeling of being watched. But I had to finish it otherwise I would have been stuck. I won’t be reading any more of the series.

Two out of five ducks.

I’m currently reading The Night Circus, which is really good so far (but I’m only about 100 pages in). I’ll let you know how that goes!

As for my punishment: This is what I watched this week!

~Lots of Northernlion. So much Nothernlion. Andrew and I watch his Lets Plays of The Binding of Issac and the Northernlion Live Super Show, which features my internet boyfriend, Nick (Rockleesmile).

~I got into planner decorating this week? (WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO ME) I’ll just leave this playlist here but my favorite video is the June Plan with Me.

~I played so much Tsum. All the Tsum Tsum. I need a time stop Tsum, a Bambi tsum, and a rabbit Tsum to complete my bingo cards. I’m getting VERY annoyed haha.

~ I watched Monsters U and Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2. Cloudy w/ a Chance 2 is probably one of my favorite animated films and that kills my Disney heart a little bit. I am embarrassed to tell you how many times I’ve watched this film. And I laugh like it’s the first time EVERY. DAMN. TIME. The bus driver gets me.

THAT IS ALL OKAY I LOVE YOU BYE.

Except wait, one more thing. Next week we will have posted to Plaintartsss for a YEAR. WHATTHEDAMNHELL. I’m so mushy every time I think about it.

OKAY NOW REALLY BYE.

Leave a Reply

