8 Year Anniversary

Hi Steffi, do you know what today is?

It’s been 8 years since Deathly Hallows was released.

I always feel a sense of great weight on July 21st. It’s usually very sad. It was fun waiting in line and playing games with my best friend. It was exciting first reading the book I had waited years for. It was on the back of my mind that the end was near as I read it, but I had the story to keep me going. I remember all the good things about that entire experience. But now I am sad because it was the end and it’s already happened. Eight years ago.

A huge part of my life had ended a few days later when I finished reading. But I didn’t know then the amazing experience I would have taking a Harry Potter class in college and meeting you. I didn’t know then I would actually be going to Hogwarts and Hogsmeade and witnessing magic with my boyfriend-turned-husband. I didn’t know then that I would travel thousands of miles to watch the final book on screen with thousands of other wizards and share a week full of memories with at LeakyCon.

It’s never really ended. And Hogwarts will always be my home and I can go whenever I want because Jo told me I could. And continues to tell me. On twitter.

Thanks Jo, for everything.

BRB I’m going to go read Harry Potter for the 374857th time.

Leave a Reply

