Books TBR in October

Hey Kara,

I started watching these videos by ReadByZoe on YouTube and apparently there’s this whole book nerd thing on YT that I never knew about and now I feel really lame and late to the game. BUT the reading community (or whatever the hell they’re called – book nerds?) on YT has this thing called “TBR” or “To be Read” and I think that’s fantastic and so I’m going to copy it like the supersonic mirror that I am.

I didn’t read anything in September so I’m going to start October off right, with the funniest author in all of existence: Jenny Lawson.

  1. Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson
    • I’ve already started reading this book and I am continuously excited to pick it up again. She is just so uncompromisingly funny. I learned from her last book to pee before I read because (and Andrew can attest to this) I spend a hefty majority of reading this book crying of laughter. Actual tears. I implore anyone with mental illness or anyone who has friends with mental illness or anyone with a pulse to go out and buy this book immediately. I know it will benefit your life and I’m not even done with the book yet.
    • P.S. She’s going to be in Phoenix for a book signing. Guess when, go ahead. No, not my wedding, I wouldn’t care about that because my wedding is important. No, she’s going to be here the day I leave for Disney World. This is the ONLY thing that has made me VERY sad about my trip. I seriously considered changing our dates of travel. WHY, JENNY, WHYYYY!!!!
  2. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Hollow City and Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs
    • First, I’m hardcore envious of the author’s name. There’s no way it can be real. Second, the first two books are a reread – and here’s why. I first read Miss Peregrine’s when it came out in 2011 and I really loved it. When I picked up Hollow City in 2014, I bought it on my e-reader and it just wasn’t the right experience (also, I had forgotten quite a bit of the original story, shhh). These stories are mixed media – they contain pictures found by the author (real pictures and they’re all very creepy and eerie) and the e-reader just didn’t do it justice. So when Library of Souls came out this past month, I decided to buy it and Hollow City in hardback and give the whole series another read. This series is perfect to gear up for Halloween by the way.
  3. Asylum by Madeleine Roux
    • Again, stop it with the awesome names, authors. This book was recommended to me by Goodreads because I like the Miss Peregrine series. This is also a mixed media book and apparently contains real pictures from asylums. I’m so excited to read this and Andrew is very mad that I bought it because there’s a 100% chance I won’t ever be able to sleep again.

So that’s it! Five books to be read by the end of October. Hopefully this will keep me motivated and hold me accountable for the books I bought when you know very well that I have two very full Shelves of Shame.

I will see you TODAY. TODAY, KARA, TODAY.

By the way, for October (possibly until Christmas) I will be finishing off my post with a countdown of how many times I’ve watched Nightmare Before Christmas this year. The current count is 2.

Leave a Reply

