I Tried Quilling

Hi Steffi, I wanted to film a fun video for you this weekend, but it starting raining and it was the perfect excuse not to do it. So I stayed inside and did some fun crafts instead. This is also one of my 101 in 1001 goals: try quilling!

Quilling is just making art out of twirling thin strips of paper. It’s easy, but tedious. It was relaxing for me, but I imagine anyone with no patience or small fingers wouldn’t enjoy it too much.

IMG_3153I’ve had this ‘how-to’ book for a long time and it included everything I needed except pins and cardboard which was just recommended.

IMG_3154You have to put one end of the sliver of paper through a slot in the tool. Then you evenly twirl the paper until you reach the end. If you wanted a tight curl, you glued the end right as you slide it off the tool. If you wanted a loose curl, you slid it off and then let it unravel itself before gluing the end down.

IMG_3155Here’s some sea creatures I made! You basically just make a bunch of spirals with different lengths of paper and shape them how you want. Each piece needs no more than a speck of glue, you can never use too little.

 

IMG_3156And birds! The owl’s eyes are strips of black and yellow glued together and twirled into a tight curl.

IMG_3159

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

