Wedding Details: Club 33

Hi Kara!

The night I got married, Andrew and I had dinner at Club 33. And with it, Andrew got a new anecdote. He will proudly tell all who listen that he “can now confidently tell you the best meal he ever had in his life – the filet mignon at Club 33.”

How we got in: First question we got was how we got in. I met an amazing man through my work named Mike. He, with his family, own a bus company in California and he is very ONEOFUS. He has a new, beautiful baby girl and within two weeks that baby was in Disneyland, getting her picture taken in front of the castle. They’re all AP holders and I have just adored any time I get to spend with him and his family for work functions and the like. He mentioned once that a business associate of his had a membership to Club 33 – and even though I figured it was a long shot – I asked him to put in a good word for me – and a once in a lifetime dream was had! I’m so grateful to him for putting in the call for us. I still don’t think he has any idea how much it meant to me and Andrew (even though I told him that I cried when we got the reservation).

 Why was it special to me?: Ever since I can remember, I dreamed of having my picture taken with my future husband on the steps of the Court of Angels. I’ve loved that spot since I was a kid. I’ve taken almost everyone I’ve ever gone to Disneyland with to that spot to get pictures, relax, talk about Walt. It’s a stunning location – but it was closed off to become the new entrance of Club 33 – meaning that I would never get a picture of Andrew and I there as a married couple. As most of my friends know, I was devastated when it closed, so this was a dream come true for me. Secondary perk though, the food is amazing.

Food: So we had a choice of a 5 or 6 course meal. Andrew and I hadn’t eaten after breakfast so we went with the 6 courses, but ended up only completing 4. Here’s what we had:

  • Course 1
    • S: Lobster Rockefeller
    • A: Fried Chanterelle Mushrooms
  • Course 2
    • S: Trio of Beets Salad
    • A: Acorn Squash Soup with Summer Sausages 
  • Course 3
    • S: Seared Scallop
    • A: Lobster Risotto
  • Course 4
    • S: Salmon
    • A: Filet Mignon 
  • Course 5
    • S: Brownie
    • A: Apple Pie

In bold, you will find who won each round. Now, that’s not to say that the competing dish wasn’t incredible. It was. They all were. But there has to be a winner sometime. And the Filet Mignon DOMINATED my salmon. It would have been a tough call if it had been paired against my scallop, but even I, a pescetarian of too many years, can say I wanted a piece of that meat.

Obligatory bathroom pic

Powder Room

I didn’t get many pictures there, because we both were hella uncomf*, but we did get two trinkets to remember our amazing meal by.

To the furthest star and back,

*On being hella uncomf: We were the best dressed there, to the point that we were OVERLY dressed in comparison. But not only were we the only ones taking the dress code seriously, but most of the people there were acting like IT WAS GODDAMN MICKY D’S. LIKE IT WAS ANY OTHER TUESDAY NIGHT. My god, what it must be like to have that kind of money.

Leave a Reply

