Skin Care

Hello Karibbean,

I’m going to talk your ear off a bit about skincare. This post comes to you in a few excessively worded parts.

After buying the Luna Night Oil by Sunday Riley (post here), and seeing such a huge difference in what a quality/expensive product can do for my skin, I’ve really become more interested in taking care of my skin and choosing products that are both good for me and good for our little furry friends.

Sunday Riley’s products are made in the USA, they don’t have a parent company, and are 100% cruelty free (and some products are vegan, I believe). I say they don’t have a parent company for reasons: NYX is a “cruelty free” brand, but they’re owned by Loreal, which is a shitty company that likes testing on bunnies. When you purchase anything from NYX, a portion of those profits are going to benefit Loreal. And that sucks.

I really like this website for checking to see if a brand is cruelty free: Cruelty Free Kitty. I just found out, because of them, that REN – a well known prestige, cruelty free skin care brand – was just bought out by a bad parent company. NOT COOL.

I just bought Sunday Riley’s Artemis Oil as a day moisturizer and I’m planning on purchasing Dr. Dennis Gross’s (another cruelty free brand!) mineral SPF spray to layer on top of that. I’m excited for this new skincare journey I’m about to embark on!

Here’s to looking a subtle 30 when I’m 63!

Part two: A review.

 

yes, that’s a harvey butt

 
I bought a cleansing oil at TJ Maxx not too long ago called Coast to Coast Ultra Soothing Cleansing Oil – Grapefruit and Geranium. This product is kind of what spurred on my interest in buying better skincare because this product is 1) cheap and 2) sucky. It does the job of getting off my makeup but it made me break out in these little surface bumps – some of which had nothing inside them. I wouldn’t suggest this product and it is going to find a home in my trash.

Part three: I know I’m late to post this, but I had a really weird day yesterday. I will explain why in a private post to you. I’m going to do it as a private post because 1) it’s personal 2) I want to keep this blog as an honest account of what’s going on in my life but I’m not super comfortable sharing the negatives with the world yet because 3) I’m really bad at doing what Margaret Atwood describes as telling the truth slant. I have a very hard time talking about things in a kind way if they make me upset. But hopefully, the more I try – the better  I will become.

That’s it for me! To the furthest star and back,

PS halfway through this post, derpy decided he wanted to sit between me and the computer and I tried to get a Photo Booth picture but IT DIDN’T WORK AND NOW I’M SAD.

PPS books! I finished Voyage of the Basilisk, the third book in the Lady Trent series and it was SO GOOD. I don’t know what book I will move onto next, but if I don’t start one by next week, give me a mini punishment. Which is something I think we should do. 

Leave a Reply

