A Discovery of Witches & 2016 Reading Progress

Hey Kara,

I have been truly horrible at updating you on the books I’ve been reading and my progress. I promise that I never went a week without reading because I was reading a wonderful book series, A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness. These books were so good.


First, the characters in the books are creatures: human, demons, vampires and witches. I spent the first book detoxing from the last Vampire book I read (Twilight barf I hate myself) and it took me almost all of the book to stop comparing and hating myself for reading a vampire book. By the second book that was gone and by the third, I am almost ready to forget about the horrible time in my life when I thought those books had any value at all.

Once I got past my prejudice, I feel in love with the characters and the story and it was sciency and magical and romancy and lovely! (There was a disturbing amount of DNA talk in this book, Kara, I think you might like it) I hesitate suggesting this to anyone, because I’m rolling my eyes at my reading of this so when someone rolls their eyes at me for suggesting they read it, I totally get it. But it was good and I hope those who chose to read it or have read it love it as much as I did!

So here’s my progress for the year:

My challenge: 10/25 books read! (Goodreads Bookshelf)

And our challenge: 4/11 books read! (Goodreads Bookshelf)

Discovery of Witches completed the “Book I’ve been meaning to read” category.

My next book is going to be the fourth book in the Lady Trent Series! Which will complete the “Book published this year” category!

Yay books!

Also, we’re in Vegas right now – THAT’S SO EXCITING.

Leave a Reply

