Adulting: Home Furnishing Edition

Hi Karibbean,

I have adulted recently, and I wanted to show you what I did! I bought expensive furniture that will last me a lot longer and looks a lot better than Ikea furniture!

What sparked this was a need for a new dresser. I got mine when I was in middle/high school and it’s been with me ever since. I was not kind to this dresser when I was young. I used to hoard clothing inside it and stuff it so full that if you opened the top drawer, you opened all of the drawers – as the bottoms were so bowed that they would catch on the next drawer down. This dresser deserved a better life. Hopefully it will find one with it’s next home (cuz I donated it, that was the adult(hehheh) thing to do).


So I bought this stunningly beautiful dresser from Living Spaces. It’s a solid wood piece so it’s going to last me a million years and it’s very versatile. Depending on the lighting/what it’s surrounded by, the color of the piece changes from brown to grey. The top shelves are lined in velvet. I’m actually in love.

We knew we wanted to buy another piece for the house when we bought the dresser because Living Spaces was having a killer offer – 0% interest for 12 months if you spent over $1000.00. So we knew we were going to buy something else and we finally decided on this beauty.

tiny approved


We needed a new love seat for our living room because the one we had before was a recliner, and like all recliners, it broke. And quickly. All of our guests hated the couch, we hated the couch, and we are very happy with our new one! It’s lovely and comfy and has a beautiful grey herringbone pattern.


Next item, which was purchased this month instead of last month(ish – I’ve been hoarding this post clearly), was a new vanity! I bought this one from Wayfair and it’s just. I am in love. I did a massive cleanout of my vanity and makeup and threw away everything that was or could possibly be expired. I threw away a Trader Joes bag FULL of makeup. I’m both proud and disgusted. But now that I have this new set up, I feel inspired to do my makeup more! Yay!

These next few years I’m going to dedicate a bit of my wallet to redecorating my house. I’m excited!

I hope you have a wonderful weekend, my beautiful, flamboyant sunfish.

PS I really am pants at this. I finished the Labyrinth of Drakes and it was wonderful! But it seemed a bit more rushed than her other novels and that made me a bit sad. I gave it a 5/5 on Goodreads but in my heart it was a 4.5 maybe even a 4. I am now reading Mistborn, which is the book that Andrew is demanding that I read.

PPS you never picked out a book for me to read. Tell me what I have to read woman!

Leave a Reply

