Skin Inc. Serum Review

Hi Keddahbean and Cheese.

img_3220

The three serums I purchased in the bundle are Vitamin C (Rebalance and Tackle Pores – but also Vitamin C boosts the effects of all products applied after Vitamin C. This is especially important for SPF!), Licorice (Calm Irritated Skin), and French Pine Bark (Antioxidant Protection – which helps to prevent aging from free radical and UV damage). The three serums in the sample were Vitamin A (Even Tone and Reduce Dark Circles), Hyaluronic Acid (Long Lasting Hydration) and Chlorella (Brighten and Tackle Spots). 

First I will let Sephora describe the product to you:

Patented Japanese seaweed encapsulation technology allows for an effective delivery of pure, potent ingredients, while the humectant-rich base delivers lasting hydration. Layer individually or blend with up to two additional Skin Inc. customizable serums to provide optimal results and create a powerful, multipurpose product.

Now, I want to talk to you about Skin Inc and their Custom Serums. But I feel like to talk about the good, I need to start here:

The Bad: I purchased the My Daily Dose Custom-Blended Serum Set from Sephora on 7/7. This kit allows you to get 3 full size Custom Serums and a Serum Bottle for $90.00. You essentially get one Serum and the Serum Bottle for free. I think this is a spectacular deal. But I’ll be done with the product by the end of this month if not sooner. And I stopped using it day and night about a week ago. $90.00 for a product that lasts less than 45 days – I don’t know how I feel about that. It could be 100% my fault but I am having a hard time recommending the product or deciding if I will repurchase simply because of this. But, knowing that, let me get into the MANY positives of this product.

img_3219

The Good: There are so many I need to break them down.

Customer Service: I contacted their customer service to find out if this is a cruelty free brand. I sent this email on 7/7 at 10:03am.

Hello. Do you test on animals, at any point during the production of your products? Are your ingredients tested on animals by your suppliers? Do you test on animals when required by law? Are you owned by another company? Thank you!

They responded with this email on 7/7 at 10:57am.

Hello Stephanie,
Thank you for your inquiry.  I am happy to share that Skin Inc is a cruelty-free brand, and that we do not currently sell into China, or any other countries which require animal testing.  Skin Inc does not acquire ingredients from third parties who conduct animal testing.  Our company is privately held so we are not affiliated with any other brands which conduct different practices than what I have outlined here.
I hope that you find this information helpful; please don’t hesitate to reach out with any further questions.
Cheers to awesome skin!
Kind regards,
Brie
  1. Fast and amazing customer service.
  2. Kind and detailed response
  3. Cruelty free line!
This is the kind of company I want to support!
The Product: This is a really incredible product. First, it’s a fun product. It had a very apothecary feel and I love that. I loved mixing the three bottles into one – I loved the bottle itself – the whole thing. I loved the targeted aspect of this product. It’s awesome that you can use balancing serums where you need it, cell turnover serums on dark spots or healing breakouts, and vitamin C for balancing all over.

Also, it’s an educational product. The three serums I purchased plus the three I received as samples from Sephora informed me about my skin in ways I wasn’t expecting. I have dry skin? Well of course I do. I live in the hottest state in the nation, I use acne products, and I don’t drink nearly enough water. OF COURSE I need moisturizing products. So when I started using the Hyaluronic Acid all over, my skin perked up and my breakouts lessened.

Lastly, I truly feel that this product has changed my skin.

Overall: I think I would recommend this product to people who are very interested in skincare. I also think that I will repurchase the kit – but I think I will change the serums. I think I can drop the Vitamin C and replace it with a Vitamin C serum by another company (I’m looking at you, Drunk Elephant). I will keep the French Pine Bark for sure because duh. And, I think I will keep my products separate so that I can do more area correcting vs all over correcting.

I think this was my most educational skincare post so far. I hope you liked learning about my little apothecary bottles as much as I loved using and learning about them.
HAVE THE VERY BESTEST DAY KARA & FRIENDS.
((And you better, Kara, because I’m at your house RIGHT NOW))
One thought on “Skin Inc. Serum Review

  1. Vanessa Crowe says:

    I’m so glad you published this because I just purchased the my mask cocktail, it came with the mask and 3 serums to literally make your own masks lol I was looking all over sephora and skin inc to find if they were cruelty free because I couldn’t find it on the box. Nor on either website. I was assuming they were not after all that. I’m so happy they are because I have high hopes for this brand and I’m a skin care and makeup junkie. This may become a new front runner.

Leave a Reply

